Join the El Camino Drama Department  for:

The Government Inspector!

.: Past Productions

Legally Blonde

El Camino's most popular show had record attendance and racked up awards. Awards were: McKenzie Kruse – Best Lead Actress in a Musical, Rachel Dillon – Best Supporting Actress in a Musical, Cast of Legally Blonde – Best Ensemble. Nominations included: Martin Ortiz – Lead Actor in a Musical, Reden Magtira – Supporting Actor in a Musical, Saika Pitre – Supporting Actress in a Musical, Kaitlyn Halseth – Featured Actress in a Musical, Lacey Phelps and Marci Francis – Lighting Design.  More pictures: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7



A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum

was a celebrated show for both actors and guest alumni Directors Laurel Burns and Bryce Nicastro. Receiving National Youth Theatre Awards were: Reden Magtira for Lead Actor in a musical and Kaitlyn Halseth as Best Supporting Actress in a musical. Nominations included: Colt Apodoca as Supporting Actor, Martin Ortiz as Supporting Actor, Jessica Michaels as Supporting Actress, Anton Maroun as Featured Actor, Cast of Forum – Best Ensemble. Allyson Francis and Leilani and Hana Mauga – Costume Design, Sharon Strong and Laurel Burns – Best Direction.


Obtaining the rights to the newly-released "Hairspray" for our 2011 spring musical was a big coup and El Camino Drama rose to the demands of this show with high-octane energy.  Cast members garnered over 5 National Youth Theatre Nominations and Senior David Eseroma broke the mold with his portrayal of "Edna" receiving an "Outstanding Best Actor in a Musical" National Youth Theatre Award. Other nominees included: Outstanding Best Supporting Actress in a Musical:  McKensie Kruse, Helena Marie-Woods, Diane Dumpit; Outstanding Best Supporting Male in a Musical - Colt Apodoca, and Outstanding Ensemble in a Musical - El Camino Cast of Hairspray.  More pictures: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

The Wiz

El Camino High School's musical extravaganza, "The Wiz" won top honors in five categories at the National Youth Theatre Awards June 2009 for Best Direction-Sharon Strong, Best Actress in a Musical - Kim Moore, Best Supporting Actor in a Musical - Preston Butler, Best Ensemble - The Wiz cast, Best Costume Design - Renetta Lloyd and Janie Newsom.  Choreographer Jake Tidwell was also nominated for Best Choreography.  Over 1300 productions from across the United States were reviewed with award ceremonies held inCalifornia, Arizona, and New York. More pictures: 1, 2, 3


The musical Urinetown 2008 was an El Camino all-time favorite. The show garnered 4 National Youth Theatre Awards for Best Actress; Makenzie Daris, Best Supporting Actor; Kevin Cleary, Best Supporting Actress; Laurel Burns; and Best Ensemble; Urinetown Cast. More pictures: 1, 2, 3

All Shook Up

In the Spring of 2010, El Camino put on, All Shook Up and this show still has the cast and crew singing and dancing as they prepare for the Edinburgh Scotland Theatre Festival Summer of 2011.  Helena Marie Woods won Best Actress and the cast won Best Ensemble at the National Youth Theatre Awards.  Additional NYT nominations included:  Best Actor - Wayne Higgs, Best Supporting Actresses -  Kim Moore and Shelby Caughron, Best Choreography - Kim Moore and Demi Boyd. More pictures: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5


SHARON STRONG – Consultant

Sharon celebrates 29 years in the Oceanside Unified School District and is excited to be at El Camino where she first began her teaching career under the tutelage of Speech and Drama legends Cliff Roach and Marvin Read. Prior to her return to El Camino, Sharon served for 16 years as the Speech and Drama Chairperson at Oceanside High School where she coached over 200 students to State and National finals garnering over 10 state championships in various events. Sharon was honored with the Double Diamond Award from the National Forensic League for her dedication to extra-curricular work. Sharon holds a MA in Curriculum Design from UCSD using drama, speech and video activities across the content area. 

Sharon is ecstatic that her senior leadership with Lily Boyd, Jasmine Torres, and Andrew Bandares has accepted this challenge of directing the spring production.  She sees her biggest reward as watching her students pass the torch of theatre to others. 

.:Creative Team for Spring Production

LILIAN BOYD – Student Director

Lilian A Boyd is a senior at El Camino and is honored to be finishing her high school career by directing her first show! The co president of EC’s drama department, she has participated as an actor in 5 shows at the Truax and was assistant director and costumer of To Kill a Mockingbird. Favorite acting credits include Audrey in Little Shop of Horrors, Roxanne in Sequitor, and Sarah Brown in Guys and Dolls, and she has worked backstage at New Village Arts and Moonlight Amphitheater.

She would like to give a huge thanks to Mrs. Strong, Ms. Noble, and Matt for helping her grow as a performer and a director, and to Mom, Dad, Mali, and Grammie for their love and support, as well as her fellow directors and dream team members Jasmine and Andrew with whom she couldn't survive without. Finally, she thanks the entire cast and crew for creating something beautiful and hilarious with her. Enjoy the show!

JASMINE TORRES – Student Director

This is Jasmine's seventh and final performance to grace the Truax stage. Some of her favorite acting credits include D.A. Joyce Riley in Legally Blonde, The Ugly Showgirl in The Producers, Mrs. Butz in Avenue Q, and Patricia Martin in Little Shop of Horrors.

First, she would like to thank Mrs. Strong, Ms. Noble, and Matthew Gherna for helping her blossom as an actor and person. Second, Jasmine would like to thank her enormous fan base (her mother, father, and sister) for supporting her and keeping the paparazzi behind the ropes. She would also like to give a shout out to her dream team and fellow directors Andrew and Lily for keeping her sane through her high school career.

Last but not least, she would like to thank the cast and crew for their huge effort in making this student led production one for the books. 

ANDREW BANDERAS – Student Director

This is Andrews senior year, and he is very proud to be able to finish his high school career by playing Ivan Hlestakov. He's excited to be in his 4th play at the truax theatre and hopes to move on and continue acting.

This has been an amazing run for his high school career and knows it'll be one to remember! He would like to thank his friends, his directing dream team, and loved ones for all the support they give him. Enjoy the show!

"Wow I love Andrew, he's so talented and funny"-Everyone



Excellence is the result of caring more than others think is wise, risking more than others think is safe, dreaming more than others think is practical and expecting more than others think is possible.


El Camino Drama seeks to promote excellence for all students as skillful performers and storytellers, and as educated audience members.



Video Production 
Hall of Fame Film Shorts
(Students from the Theatre and Video Production Department team together  to produce award-winning films) 

Student Producer Ike Mauga '13 received top honors for his film Cadence which won 1st place at the California Educaton Film Festival and also The IVIE Grand Recognition Award for San Diego County High Schools. Check it out here


California Educators Theatre Associaton (CETA) Awarded these fall festival entries with "Excellence in Theatre Awards."


For full screen, click on the video image itself..